The car and restoration strategy

The car is a 1966 Mini 850. It has hydrolastic suspension and was originally white.

Mini's new homeAlthough I was able to get the tires to hold air long enough to get the car home, it stayed on the little dollies so I could move it around.

I learned some things from the first Mini’s restoration, and plan to apply them to this one. One of the first lessons is that I wanted the car to be mobile. The garage is used for other things than mini work, and the Mini can’t take up all the space. Second, sandblasting is clearly the way to go in getting paint and rust off things. On Mini 1 I used a ton of paint remover and grinding and sanding on many of the body panels. Some things I had blasted, like the rear subframe and a door. This time, the whole car gets blasted. Ed loaned me a blasting cabinet, and I’ve been cleaning up some of the parts I’ve taken off. Last time, I was on my back on the floor, scraping, sanding, and welding on the floor. This time, the Mini goes on a rotisserie. Last time, I primed the car. This time, who knows. I’d love to prime it, or even paint it. But the guy that painted Mini 1 did such a good job, and did it so easily, that it’s probably  not really worth it.

One response to “The car and restoration strategy

  1. It idea that it would similar to the patch (obviously, or one wouldn\’t buy het now would ya?) but when the patch arrived he really was hempressed by the detail wen the patch. Itt\’s a tiny tinyer that i belief shet would
    be even though she had a ruler and sketched het out – no mas, it
    would recommend this patch to anyone! the shipping and service was better – we
    wasn\’t going to ups a patch so you acquire what you query for there.

Leave a comment